Someone called me Fat…

Standard

Last Saturday as I was doing my last long run before the ING Miami Half Marathon, someone called me fat.  FAT, not PHAT, meaning cool and great. Some guy (looked homeless) on a bike shouted out to me that I was fat, and I should just keep running & running to lose the weight.  **(Stay tuned next week for the blog post of why I run)

Yes I do have a mirror, but I didn’t consider myself fat.  I always thought of myself as voluptuous and statuesque.  Usually things like this don’t really bother me, but for some reason, this just hit me and I’m not going to lie, it hurt. As I finished my run on Saturday I thought to myself, we live in such a society that if you’re not a size 2 through maybe 6, you’re outside of the realm of ‘hotness’.  Then the brain flash that I had was I was born several centuries too late, in the 15th Century I would’ve been considered HOT and maybe even have modeled for Botticelli.

The battle of the bulge is not for the faint of heart. It really isn’t.  If you’ve never battled it you have no idea what its like.  The thing is I’m very fit, I’m just not thin.  I run marathons, I do triathlons, and I’m open to try anything athletic at least once.  But I’m not thin…  I recently started keeping a food diary (myfitness pal – android & iphone app), and let me tell you, once you start keeping track of what you eat you realize a lot of things about your eating habits.  I’m not going to lie, I’m not the healthiest of eaters.  But I have to work with what will work for me, which is eating what I like but just a lot less. I’m trying to listen to my body when it starts to tell me that it’s full, even though I sometimes ignore it. Growing up you were taught to eat everything on your plate, because the poor children in Africa were going hungry.  If I would’ve had left overs, how would they even have gotten to Africa? But now I know better. 

I usually don’t tell anyone I’m trying to lose weight.  Because then I get the ‘you shouldn’t eat that’, or ‘really you’re going to have 2nds?’.  I know that folks mean well, but it never settles well.

So far since the start of the new year I’m down 7lbs… Will I win the war? Who knows… But I’m working on this battle one day at a time.  So at least when some guy passes by me on a bike when I’m running he won’t call me fat.

About LoreLama

I'm a mish-mosh of wonderful! I think that shoes are a girls best friend... And family is something no one can replace... I run (not fast) and I'm proud of it! I ramble even more on Twitter.com/LoreLama follow me there... I'm all over the place and so are my thoughts, which could be a good thing :). I have an interesting sense of humor. I'm on a quest for race bling in 2012, if you have to ask what that is, then you're not a runner.

20 responses »

  1. How horrible. I wouldn’t listen to this person’s opinion of you. He likely doesn’t have the best social skills if he yells out to people on the street. Being curvy is a good thing. 🙂

  2. That guy was a raging ASS. I have many curvalicious friends who are athletic and fit (and yes, run marathons and spin and swim and are 90 million times more flexible than I am at yoga!). I sincerely wish society would accept that being scary skinny is NOT healthy. The appearance of rib cages frightens me. Ugh.

  3. That guy is a total IDIOT!!!!!! He obviously lacks something in his life that heeds to try and bring others down. Karma. What comes around in life goes around! You just keep kicking ass and pushing each mile – you are a fabulous lady and he obviously is not man enough to handle someone like you!!!

  4. Lorena, this war has, had and will have many lost battles, but the WAR will end in the moment that we lose the enthusiasm for fighting it. We are on the same boat! Your beauty is not measure for being fat or not.

    Beauty is a subjective term. Subjective because everybody perceives differently according of their own experiences (and obviously this guy is ignorant). The term goes above and beyond of the different perceptions and it should be admired and appreciated only. That said, thank God for being alive and for being a beautiful successfull runner no matter what people say!!

    Stay Focused with passion Lore!

    FYI, ONE of the many beauties I admire from you is your smile, your medals and our likes for shoes LOL!!!!
    Thank you for all of those things you unconditionally give to all of us!

  5. Once, in SOBE, I needed to buy a lightweight dress shirt or dress for a party I was hosting at the Victor. The one I brought was too heavy for what turned out to be a scorching 97 degree evening event. So I thought I’ll just guy something lightweight. Every store did not carry large. Miami is rough. I felt gorgeous & sexy before but after shopping there, I felt completely fat. Yes, it’s a place where beautiful people go that are extremely small. Most stores barely carried a medium, let alone a large. I feel ya Sista!! Xo

  6. You are far from fat. Do not let that guy get into your head. I wish I was a fit and fabulous as you. i bet he can’t fun a marathon or compete in a triathon. Be proud of your accomplishments.

    BTW- I love this blog. I am so glad you started it.

  7. You are an inspiration and not FAT! I wish I had half the motivation and endurance that you have for yourself and your entire life! Keep up the great work….you will get there! By the way, maybe that is why that man is homeless …JERK!!! Love you my friend

  8. I have held the hands of the dying and listened carefully to their final thoughts, because as a nurse if I can’t fix you, it is the least I can do. Never once has a dying person shared with me they wished they would have been thinner or a size smaller.

    You are an amazingly strong, caring woman who has been a pillar of support for your family. You see yourself as a continual work in progress, a
    s i serve myself

  9. I once lost 90 lbs and managed to keep them off for like 10 years. A perfect size 0. I loved it. Then I had surgery and in the aftermath of it I gained 30 pounds and am now a bootylicious size 6.

    l think the whole womanly look is beginning to grow on me. Go figure. Had I known in my 20s what I know now, I probably would have had ice cream more often.

    There is something to be said about a woman who is not only in good health but also looks like she is in good health. You, my friend, are in good health and the guy who called you fat is an idiot. It is not very often that you find people who work on their fitness the way you do so you are someone to be admired. The goal in life should be to be healthy. You are also quite the hottie if you ask me. If only I could grow a couple of extra inches…UFF! 🙂

    Be proud!

    • I’m so proud of my accomplishments. I’ve done what only 1% of the population has done – run a marathon. But I was shaken. But let me tell you writing about it has given me a new fresh air with all of the support :). I may not be thin… But I’m fit & healthy 🙂

  10. Sometime I feel Chubby toooo Dear : D… Hence #Fatboyz…..South florida is Bikini – weather wea year round. place….Less pressure in #Jersey…..Bikini time only 3 months a year #Yay………..Must be tough to be a girl and live there…..Keep up the good fight

  11. As a fellow fighter in the lifelong battle against “the bulge”, I can unequivocally tell you – that guy is an ass. A fat ass to be precise. Perhaps if he spent less time running his mouth and focusing on others and more time running towards a job and focusing on himself, he would not be in his current situation. You, my friend, are beautiful, talented, intelligent, funny, thoughtful and most definitely “phat” – whether you win the war or not!

  12. You are beautiful,funny, very smart, stylish and kind beyond words. In time you will see you were indeed given all gifts. Cristy gave me a button I keep on the inside on my wallet “Take no notice of what haters have to say. What are you …the Jerk Whisperer?” It is a good reminder for everyday. Love you.

Leave a Reply

